Kenya Politics News

Matiang’i issues end date of Curfew in 5 disease infected counties

Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i Wednesday announced the end date for the curfew issued in five Counties including Nairobi, Machakos, Nakuru, Kajiado, and Kiambu.

Matiang’i said the ongoing curfew will run until May 29, 2021.

This is both for the disease infected zone and the rest of the country. The infected zones curfew run from 8pm to 4am while the rest of the country from 10pm to 4am.

The president in his directives last month did not give a timeline for the curfews only noting that the restrictions will stay in place “until otherwise notified.” 

During this period of time, the CS emphasised that there would be no public gatherings, processions or movement either alone or as a group during the period of the curfew.

Those exempted are those permitted, in writing, by a police officer in charge of the police in a county or a police officer in charge of the police in a division/sub-county as well as the listed essential service providers.

The cessation of movement in the five counties was directed by President Kenyatta on March 26 following an increase in the number of new Covid-19 infections in the country.

Related posts

Government moves to deal with political inciters


Kenya nominates Amb. Amina Mohamed to lead the World Trade Organization.


“I have no apologies to make for my statement” Ruto ally Oscar Sudi says


Leave a Comment